Dr. Zahi Hawass, Secretary General of the Supreme Council of Antiquities (SCA), and Dr. Samir Farag, Head of the Luxor Supreme Council (LSC), together announced the completion of several development projects at different archaeological sites on Luxor’s western and eastern banks, and visited other ongoing projects, for which the total budget was LE 127 million.
These projects include the restoration of Abul Hagag El Loxori Mosque, changing the entrance of Luxor temple, the development of the area around Deir el-Bahri Temple, the restoration of Howard Carter’s rest house with a view to developing it into a museum, and the installation of a new lighting system in the Valley of the Kings.
Restoration work on the mosque, which lasted for 14 months and cost LE 13.4 million, aimed at returning it to its original glory. The cracks have now been removed, the foundations consolidated, and the water fountain renovated. The mosque’s open court has been developed, and a fire alarm system has been installed.
The mosque’s dome has been restored as well, along with the Pharaonic columns re-used in 1286 to construct the mosque. The entrance to Luxor Temple has also been changed, a project which cost LE 7,260 million and lasted 18 months. Furthermore, the area around Deir el-Bahri hasbeen developed over the past 15 months, at a cost of LE 9,850 million. The aim was to remove all unlicensed vendors from around the temple, who would encroach on the safe zone protecting the monument, and to establish an official visitor’s centre, a cafeteria, a bookstore and 52 bazaars, as well as repaving all roads leading to the temple.
The Carter Rest-House, used as the residence of Howard Carter during his excavations at the Valley of the Kings in the early 1990's, has been restored and developed into a museum displaying the tools and instruments used by Carter during his excavations. The project costs LE 1.121 million and lasted for four months.